The Pursuit

I woke up this morning to a pile of dog poo in my floor. I’ve never wanted an inside animal. Ever. But I promised my kids that should we ever move into a place that was ours…really ours…they could have a dog. Inside. To lay on our rug in front of the fire place and make it feel like home. In May we moved into the house I grew up in and within hours of unpacking the first box I had already been asked, “when can we go get our dog?” A month later we went to the shelter and came home with OG. He sheds like the dickens and apparently forgot that we house broke him months ago, but he’s ours and we like him pretty good I guess. I woke up before my alarm to let the furry beast out (only to find he’d already found a patch of floor) and when I opened my front door, I was hit with that first feeling of fall in the air. You know, the first brisk morning after the long, hot, breathless days of summer and it felt like revival. Like something new but so familiar that it takes your breath just a little. And perhaps this is me waxing poetic, but I love this morning…the first one. When the weather shifts so completely and I’m hit with the overwhelming need to wear a sweater and sit on my porch with a cup of coffee and just remember.


I’ve had seasons where I’d lost my wonder in the Lord. Nothing moved my heart. Nothing caught my attention. But today I feel a stirring deep down that feels like fascination. And the fear that I’m going to somehow miss Him has been replaced with the knowing that His goodness is chasing me down.


Have you ever split up from someone in the grocery store and after you’re finished getting what you came to get, you walk up and down the aisles looking for the person you came with. And it seems like you keep just missing them. Like they walk behind a shelf the moment you pass, catching a glimpse of their heel. You can’t be sure it was them, so you walk just a little bit faster, trying to catch them before they disappear again. That’s how I’ve felt in my walk with God the last few weeks. Like we split up in the place we’d come together and I keep barely missing Him. And I’ve been frustrated. Frustrated at my shortcomings. The flaws that must be the reason I can’t seem to catch hold of Him. Frustrated that He brought me here and left me to wander around on my own. Doesn’t He know the kind of trouble I can get into on my own??!


But last night at church, worshipping with my sweet family at The Bridge, we sang a song and it reminded me that He is always pursuing me. Always. And so I decided that if He’s always chasing me then I just need to be still…so as to be thoroughly caught.


So that’s it. No grand revelation for you this morning. I just love the Lord and His absolute wooing of my heart. And it’s today’s love letter in the morning air. His everyday pursuit for the prize of my love. And I’m reminded of all the times He’s romanced this fickle heart…how could I not love Him back?

Leave a comment